2023 Winners

2023 Burnie Carnival Highlights

Class came to the fore in the men’s Burnie Wheel, with national champion Graeme Frislie storming from the back mark to take out top honours on Sunday, December 31.  The 22-year-old Victorian started off scratch, defeating Malaysian Muhammad Hafiq and Burnie’s Dalton Stretton, who finished second and third respectively. It was a great race with the backmarkers working hard to catch the field with a few hundred metres to go.

In the Women’s Wheel race, Launceston’s Lauren Perry claimed a narrow victory over 2000 metres. The 27-year-old took the win with a time of 2:19.894 off a handicap of 80 metres, defeating Malaysian Nyo Chi Hui who clocked 2:19.897 off a handicap of 130 metres.

A gutsy effort on the final lap has led Ulverstone’s Aaron Harvey to a thrilling triumph in the “biggest race to win” – the Open Burnie Mile.  The 25-year-old claimed top honours from 130 metres after catching Wesley Vale’s Darcy Miller with half a lap to go, before holding off a late surge by Patrick Lee.

Harvey, who finished in a time of 3:59.79, felt honoured to have crossed the line in first place, overcoming “jelly legs” in the final stages of the race. Lee ended the race in second spot in a time of 4:00.17 off a handicap of 200 metres. Sam Clifford ran well from the back mark to finish a close third.

In the Burnie Gift the men’s and women’s winners were both first time Victorian youngsters; Mia Spencer running from 10.75m beat local favourite Chelsea Scolyer home, and Saye Morris surged home off the back mark to beat local John Howe in the Mens event. Local favourite Daniel Reeve got the chocolates in the 400m.

Some great racing on what was a perfect day in Burnie in front of a big crowd.